Stephanie Jagl-Posch

riding and other stuff.

Autumn weekend fun.

Leave a comment

Recently, I’ve spent as much time outdoors as I could, to soak up the last warm sunrays. It’s already noticeable that autumn and winter are around the corner and as much as I love winter (all seasons, really), the lightness of living in the warmer months of the year has a certain feeling to it that I really enjoy.

On a sunny september saturday, Roman and I went to a climbing spot near Scheibbs, where I layed out my bouldering mat and  tried to solve some rocky problems. I havn’t been climbing a lot lately, so it took some time to get used to it again, but after about an hour I nearly solved the problem I had chosen. Do you know that point during a climbing session, when you suddenly find the solution to mastering the chosen route, but your body just isn’t capable of climbing it anymore? Yeah. Still I felt a bit of success, even if it only was of the “hurrah, I haven’t unlearned it all”-type.

Photograph of Stephanie Jagl-Posch bouldering on a rock wall

Sunday was an early shift for me, because I had a hiking rendezvous with 3 friends. We met up at 7am and then headed towards the infamous Oistal near Gaming. Our plan for the day was a roundtrip hike leading to the peaks of Scheibe, Scheiblingstein and the Bärenleitenkogel. Together with a lot of other people we started our ascent, luckily only a few of them also wanted to do the whole tour, most only walked until the Scheibe.
View of the Mountain called Scheibe
…Hence the name “Scheibe” (which means “Disk”)

The view from the Scheibe down to the Lunzer See
This is the view from the Scheibe down to the Lunzer See.

It was a steep, sweaty ascent, followed by multiple descents and ascents in rocky terrain. After summit number three all of us were ready for a refreshing stop at the Herrenalm, which was closed, but where the hosts were kind enough to leave drinks cooled in the fountain for the hikers. Putting some money in the glass jar, we all picked a lemonade to restore our sugar balance.

Photograph of the Ötscher in Lower Austria
Looking over to the Ötscher in Lower Austria

A person hiking
Stef walking in green surroundings.

 

About 8 hours and 1100 meters in altitude difference after the start, we arrived at the parking lot again.

We were tired, but all the gorgeous views, delicate smells (I LOVE conifers!) and wonderful memories were totally worth it!

I’m in love with the seasons!❤

Leave a Reply

